A Commonwealth of Virginia Website
This news release is from the previous Governor's administration.
For Immediate Release: June 13, 2014
Contacts: Office of the Governor: Brian Coy, brian.coy@governor.virginia.gov

Governor McAuliffe Announces Administration Appointments


RICHMOND – Governor Terry McAuliffe announced additional appointments to his administration today. The appointees will join McAuliffe’s administration focused on finding common ground with members of both parties on issues that will grow Virginia’s economy and create more jobs across the Commonwealth. 

Secretariat of Public Safety and Homeland Security  

Curtis Brown, Chief Deputy State Coordinator, Virginia Department of Emergency Management

Curtis Brown has homeland security and emergency management policy experience at the federal, state, and local levels.  Most recently, he served as the Emergency Management Administrator for the Hampton Roads Planning District Commission (HRPDC), where he worked with federal, state, and local homeland security and emergency management officials to promote seamless coordination, build capabilities, and develop preparedness plans.  Prior to joining the HRPDC, Curtis served as Professional Staff on the U.S. House of Representatives Committee on Homeland Security, where he was responsible for oversight of several Department of Homeland Security and Federal Emergency Management Agency initiatives, including emergency communications, preparedness grants, and homeland defense.  Additionally, he served as Senior Special Assistant to Governor Tim Kaine in the Office of Commonwealth Preparedness with responsibility for developing emergency preparedness policies for state agencies.  Curtis received his Bachelor of Science in Political Science from Radford University, his Master of Public Administration from Virginia Tech, and his Master of Arts in Homeland Security and Emergency Preparedness from Virginia Commonwealth University.  He is also a graduate of the Virginia Executive and Commonwealth Management Institutes. 

Secretariat of the Commonwealth  

Board of Conservation and Recreation 

  • Patti Jackson of Mechanicsville, Senior Director, Partner Relationships, American Cancer Society
  • Andrew C. Jennison of Vienna, Deputy Director, Governmental Relations, H&R Block
  • Isaac J. Sarver of Dublin, Western Virginia Political Director, Mark Warner for Virginia 

Board of Directors of the Virginia Resources Authority 

  • Thomas L. Hasty, III, CRP* of Chesapeake, Senior Executive Vice President and Chairman of the Risk Management Committee, TowneBank 

Board of Medicine 

  • J. Randolph Clements, DPM of Roanoke, Department of Orthopedic Surgery, Carilion Clinic,  Associate Professor of Surgery, Virginia Tech-Carilion School of Medicine, Residency Director, Podiatric Medicine and Surgery
  • Maxine Lee, M.D. of Roanoke, Staff Anesthesiologist, Carilion Roanoke Memorial Hospital, Roanoke Ambulatory Surgery Center, Past Vice President for Medical Affairs, Carilion Medical Center 

Cemetery Board 

  • Enid Butler of Williamsburg, Adjunct Professor, VCU Department of Gerontology
  • Armistead W. Dudley of Norfolk, Bureau Manager of Cemeteries, City of Norfolk 

Small Business Commission 

  • E. Dana Dickens, III, of Suffolk, Realtor, William E. Wood
  • Paul A. Miller of Clifton, CEO, Miller/Wenhold Capitol Strategies, LLC
  • Atif M. Qarni of Manassas, Mathematics Teacher, Prince William County Public Schools 

Small Business Financing Authority 

  • Nicholas T. Jordon of Arlington, Owner, Capitol Bridge Holdings
  • Gail L. Letts of Midlothian, Chief Lending Officer, Richmond Region President, Head of Commercial Banking, C&F Bank 

State Child Fatality Review Team 

  • Jessica T. Pickett of Stafford, EMS Technician, Firefighter/Medic, Fairfax County Fire and Rescue Department 

Virginia Aviation Board 

  • Derek M. “Dak” Hardwick of Alexandria, Director for International Affairs, Aerospace Industries Association
  • Daniel G. “Bud” Oakey of Henrico, Chairman and Managing Director, Advantus Strategies, L.L.C. 

Virginia Energy Council 

  • The Honorable Maurice Jones of Richmond, Secretary of Commerce and Trade, Commonwealth of Virginia
  • The Honorable Molly Ward of Richmond, Secretary of Natural Resources, Commonwealth of Virginia
  • Cynthia Adams of Charlottesville, Executive Director, Local Energy Alliance Program (LEAP)
  • Kristen Hughes Evans of Richmond, Founder, Sustainable Chesapeake
  • Alleyn Harned of Harrisonburg, Executive Director, Virginia Clean Cities
  • Chelsea Harnish of Richmond, Policy & Campaigns Manager, Virginia Conservation Network
  • Francis Hodsoll of Reston, Founder, Virginia Advanced Energy Industries Coalition
  • Steven Jumper of the District of Columbia, Director, Corporate Public Policy, WGL Holdings, Inc.
  • Irene Kowalczyk of New York City, Director, Global Energy Sourcing & Policy, MeadWestvaco
  • Vishwa Link of Richmond, Partner, McGuire Woods
  • Bernard Lamoureux of Boydton, Data Center Operations Manager, Microsoft
  • David Lawson of Norfolk, Vice President, Coal, Norfolk Southern Corporation
  • Robert Matthias of Virginia Beach, Chair, Virginia Offshore Wind Development Authority
  • Ann Blair Miller of Roanoke, Director, Project Management, Roanoke Regional Partnership
  • Laurie Moran of Danville, President, Danville Pittsylvania Chamber of Commerce
  • Dr. Ganapati Myneni of Yorktown, Senior Scientist, Jefferson Labs
  • Dr. Kenneth Newbold of Harrisonburg, Director of Research and Innovation, James Madison University
  • Archie Pugh of Roanoke, Managing Director, Transmission, Appalachian Power Company
  • Donald Ratliff of Big Stone Gap, VP States – Government Affairs, Alpha Natural Resources
  • Jack Reasor of Glen Allen, President & CEO, Old Dominion Electric Cooperative (ODEC)
  • Sandy Reisky of Charlottesville, Chief Executive Officer, Apex Clean Energy
  • Stephen Walz of Fairfax, Director, Environmental Programs, Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments
  • Mike Ward of Richmond, Executive Director, Virginia Petroleum Council
  • Dan Weekley of Richmond, Vice President, Corporate Affairs, Dominion Resources 

Virginia Horse Industry Board 

  • David Lamb* of Gordonsville, Owner, Oakland Heights Farm
  • Harold C. McKenzie, III, DVM, MS, DACVIM* of Blacksburg, Associate Professor of Large Animal Medicine, Virginia Maryland Regional College of Veterinary Medicine 

*Indicates reappointment