A Commonwealth of Virginia Website
This news release is from the previous Governor's administration.
For Immediate Release: June 13, 2016
Contacts: Secretary of the Commonwealth's Office: Denise Burch, Denise.Burch@governor.virginia.gov

Governor McAuliffe Announces Administration Appointments


RICHMOND – Governor Terry McAuliffe today announced his appointments to the Boards of Visitors at Virginia’s colleges and universities, the State Council for Higher Education for Virginia and the State Board for Community Colleges.

“Virginia’s economic future runs through our colleges and universities, and the leaders I appointed to boards of visitors this year understand the imperative to strengthen our academic institutions and make them more accessible to students from all walks of life,” said Governor McAuliffe. “I speak personally with every person I appoint to serve our college and university system, and I ask each one to use his or her knowledge and experience to foster innovation at their institutions, to keep the burden of tuition as low as possible and to emphasize access and completion for every student. Virginia has one of the best higher education systems on the globe and I am confident that these leaders will keep their schools moving forward as we work together to build a new Virginia economy.”

Governor McAuliffe’s appointments to Virginia college and university boards, as well as to the State Council for Higher Education and the State Board for Community Colleges are below.

Secretariat of the Commonwealth
Board Appointments

Christopher Newport University

  • Lindsey A. Carney, Esq. of Newport News, Partner of Patten, Wornom, Hatten & Diamonstein, LC
  • Terri M. McKnight, CPA of Fairfax Station, Partner and Director of Audit Department of Gelman, Rosenberg & Freedman CPAs
  • Kellye L. Walker of Williamsburg, Corporate Vice President & General Counsel, Huntington Ingalls Industries (HII)

George Mason University

  • James W. Hazel of Charlottesville
  • J. Wendy Marquez of McLean, EVS Communications, President Emeritus and CEO of Onyx Media
  • Bob Witeck of Arlington, President of Witeck Communications
  • Lisa Zuccari of McLean

James Madison University

  • Michael B. Battle* of Clarksville, Maryland, CEO of BRMi
  • Maribeth Daley Herod of Herndon, Senior Vice President of Bank of America
  • Lara Major of Purcellville, Educational Consultant
  • John C. Rothenberger* of Great Falls, founder and CEO of SE Solutions
  • Michael M. Thomas* of Reston, Executive Vice President of Booz Allen Hamilton

Longwood University

  • Katharine Bond of Mechanicsville, Senior Policy Advisor at Dominion
  • Steven Gould of Danville, Attorney, Clement Wheatley; Member, City of Danville School Board
  • Nettie L. Simon-Owens, Ed.D. of South Boston, Chief Economic Advancement Officer  of the Southern Virginia Higher Education Center

Norfolk State University

  • Devon M. Henry of Henrico County, CEO & President of Team Henry Enterprises, LLC
  • B. Keith (B.K.) Fulton of Richmond, Chairman of dityApps.com

Old Dominion University

  • R. Bruce Bradley of Virginia Beach, retired Publisher of The Virginia-Pilot and President of Landmark Communications Publishing Group
  • Larry Hill of Virginia Beach, President of L.R. Hill Custom Builders Inc.
  • Toykea Jones of Princeton Junction, New Jersey, Senior Manager Manufacturing Excellence at Johnson & Johnson Family of Companies
  • Kay A. Kemper of Norfolk, President of Kemper Consulting, Inc.

Radford University

  • Robert A. Archer of Salem, President and CEO of Blue Ridge Beverage Co., Inc.
  • Rachel D. Fowlkes of Abingdon, retired Executive Director of Southwest Virginia Higher Education Center
  • Jay A. Brown, Ph.D. of Henrico County, Director of Budget and Strategic Planning - City of Richmond, VA
  • Ann Segaloff of Smithfield
  • Deb McMahon, Ph.D. of Charlottesville, CEO, Scitent

State Board for Community Colleges

  • Nathaniel L. Bishop, D.Min. of Christiansburg, President of Jefferson College of Health Sciences, Roanoke
  • David Broder of Vienna, President of SEIU Virginia 512
  • Susan Gooden, Ph.D. of Henrico, Professor, Public Administration and Policy, Virginia Commonwealth University
  • Joe F. Smiddy, M.D. of Church Hill, Tennessee, Medical Director of Health Wagon, Wise, VA
  • The Honorable Walter A. Stosch of Glen Allen, retired state Senator
  • Robin Sullenberger* of Monterey, Retired, Consultant SRI International

State Council of Higher Education for Virginia

  • Ken Ampy of Midlothian, CEO of Astyra Corporation
  • Tom Slater of Richmond, Special Counsel, Hunton & Williams
  • H. Eugene Lockhart* of Keswick, Senior Advisor, General Atlantic LLC

University of Mary Washington

  • The Honorable Sharon Bulova of Fairfax, Chairman of the Fairfax County Board of Supervisors
  • Edward B. Hontz of Stafford County, Vice President of Basic Commerce and Industries, Inc.
  • Deirdre Powell White of Fredericksburg, President & CEO of DPW Training & Associates, LLC and Chairman of The DPW Foundation

University of Virginia and Affiliated Schools        

  • Mark T. Bowles* of Goochland, Partner, McGuireWoods LLP & Executive Vice President, McGuireWoods Consulting LLC
  • Elizabeth M. Cranwell of Roanoke County, public relations professional
  • Thomas A. Depasquale of Alexandria, private investor
  • Babur Bari Lateef, M.D. of Manassas, Physician/President of Advanced Ophthalmology, Inc.
  • James B. Murray, Jr. of Keene, Managing Partner, Court Square Ventures and Founder, the Presidential Precinct

Virginia Commonwealth University

  • H. Benson Dendy, III of Richmond, President of the Vectre Corporation.
  • Robert D. Holsworth, Pd.D.* of Richmond, Managing Partner of DecideSmart
  • John A. Luke, Jr.* of  Richmond, Chairman, Westrock Company
  • Keith T. Parker of Atlanta, Georgia, General Manager/CEO of the Metropolitan Atlanta Rapid Transit Authority
  • Shantaram Talegaonkar, M.D. of North Chesterfield, Retired Ophthalmologist, Virginia Eye Institute

Virginia Military Institute

  • George J. Collins* of Miami Beach, Florida
  • Charles E. Dominy of Fairfax County, LTG, USA (Retired)
  • Scot W. Marsh of Winchester, Presiding Partner of Marsh & Legge Land Surveyors, PLC
  • Carl Strock of Essex County, Lieutenant General, U.S. Army (Retired)

Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University

  • Greta J. Harris of Richmond, President and CEO of Better Housing Coalition
  • Chris Petersen of McLean, Partner at Morris, Manning & Martin, LLC
  • Dennis H. Treacy* of Hanover, President of the Smithfield Foundation
  • Jeff E. Veatch of Alexandria, Co-Founder of Apex Systems, Inc.

Virginia State University

  • Daryl Cumber Dance* of Henrico County, Professor Emerita, Virginia Commonwealth University and University of Richmond
  • Pam Currey of New Kent County, State Adviser, Lumina Strategy Labs and Consultant to HCM Strategists
  • Jennifer L. Hunter* of Chesterfield, Senior Vice President–Communications and Corporate Citizenship for Altria Client Services
  • Paul D. Koonce of Richmond, EVP Dominion Resources and CEO Dominion Generation
  • James J. L. Stegmaier of Chesterfield County, County Administrator

The College of William and Mary

  • Warren W. Buck, III, Ph.D, S.D. of Seattle, Washington, Professor of Physics and Chancellor Emeritus University of Washington, Bothell
  • S. Douglas Bunch of Washington, District of Columbia, Partner, Cohen Milstein Sellers & Toll PLLC
  • Ted Dintersmith of Earlysville, Founder, edu21c Foundation
  • Anne Leigh Kerr of Richmond, President, Kerr Government Strategies
  • Brian Woolfolk of Fort Washington, Maryland, Principal of Swan Creek Strategies

*denotes reappointment