35th Anniversary of the Arlington Gay and Lesbian Alliance


WHEREAS, the Arlington Gay and Lesbian Alliance (AGLA) is the oldest continually operating lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender organization in the Commonwealth of Virginia; and

WHEREAS, established in 1981, the AGLA celebrates their 35th anniversary in 2016; and

WHEREAS, the mission of the AGLA is to provide community services in Northern Virginia, raise nonpartisan political awareness of  LGBTQ issues, and offer a space for members of the LGTBQ and allies to gather safely; and

WHEREAS, members of the AGLA volunteer countless hours organizing environmental cleanups and candidate forums, participating in focus group research, fundraising for charitable organizations, and serving the underprivileged community in Northern Virginia; and

WHEREAS, every year since 2001, the AGLA awards the Tiffany M. Joslyn scholarship to a college-bound high school student who has made a notable contribution to furthering the awareness of the LGBTQ community among his or her peers; and

WHEREAS, the AGLA is an invaluable part of the Northern Virginia community, and we commend its commitment to fighting for equality and justice for all Virginians;

NOW, THEREFORE, I, Terence R. McAuliffe, do hereby recognize the 35th ANNIVERSARY OF THE ARLINGTON GAY AND LESBIAN ALLIANCE and its dedicated servicein our COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, and I call this observance to the attention of all our citizens.