A Commonwealth of Virginia Website
This news release is from the previous Governor's administration.
For Immediate Release: October 5, 2017
Contacts: Office of the Governor: Brian Coy, 804-225-4260, Brian.Coy@governor.virginia.gov

Governor McAuliffe Announces Membership and First Meeting of the Commonwealth Commission on Diversity, Equity and Inclusion


RICHMOND – The Commonwealth Commission on Diversity, Equity and Inclusion will hold its first meeting Tuesday, October 10, 2017 from 1-4pm in the Patrick Henry Building in Richmond, Virginia. The Commission will be chaired by Rabbi Jack Moline and Chief Deputy Attorney General Cynthia Hudson.

Established by Executive Order Number 69, the Commission will identify policy changes that can be made at the state level to combat intolerance, expand opportunity for all, and make Virginia more open and inclusive to people from every walk of life. Created in the wake of the violent white supremacist events on August 11th and 12th in Charlottesville, the Commission will also examine how people become radicalized and what steps can be taken to prevent political violence in the future.

The Membership of the Commission is as follows:

Hassan M. Ahmad of Sterling, Immigration Attorney, The HMA Law Firm

Jenny B. Alexander, PhD, MSW of Roanoke, Services Program Manager, City of Roanoke Department of Social Services

Rabbi Dovid S. Asher of Richmond, Rabbi, Keneseth Beth Israel

Rosa S. Atkins, PhD of Charlottesville, Superintendent, Charlottesville City Schools

Ram Bhagat, EdD of Richmond, President of The Conciliation Project and Founder of the Richmond Youth Peace Project

Bishop Lawrence Campbell, Sr. of Danville, Pastor, Bible Way Cathedral

Tonya D. Chapman, MBA, MPA of Portsmouth, Chief of Police, Portsmouth Police Department 

Carlos J. Clanton, Sr. of Norfolk, Director Resource Development & Community Engagement, HRCAP

The Honorable Rosalyn R. Dance of Petersburg, Senate of Virginia 

Doron F. Ezickson of Washington DC, Regional Director, Anti-Defamation League

Shirley Ginwright of Fairfax, Chair, Fairfax County Communities of Trust 

Sarah R. Gross of Richmond, President, Virginia PTA

Chavis W. Harris of Suffolk, Director Ethics, EEO & Compliance, Newport News Shipbuilding

James Hawdon of Blacksburg, Professor and Director of the Center for Peace Studies and Violence Prevention, Virginia Tech

*Cynthia Hudson of Richmond, Chief Deputy Attorney General, Virginia Office of the Attorney General

Robert B. Jamison of Virginia Beach, Coordinator of School Counseling Services, Virginia Beach City Public Schools

The Honorable Dwight C. Jones of Richmond, Senior Pastor, First Baptist Church of South Richmond, former Mayor of Richmond

The Honorable Delores L. McQuinn of Richmond, Virginia House of Delegates

The Honorable Jason S. Miyares of Virginia Beach, Virginia House of Delegates

*Rabbi Jack Moline of Alexandria, President, Interfaith Alliance

Sarah E. Ochs of Richmond, PhD Student, George Mason University Sociology Department; Volunteer Engagement Coordinator, Sacred Heart Center

Beth O’Connor, M. Ed. of Blacksburg, Executive Director, Virginia Rural Health Association

Adeola Ogunkeyede of Richmond, Legal Director for Civil Rights & Racial Justice Program at Legal Aid Justice Center

G. Anne Richardson of Indian Neck, Chief of the Rappahannock Tribe

Rabbi Amy Schwartzman of Falls Church, Rabbi,Temple Rodef Shalom

Mona H. Siddiqui of Midlothian, Assistant Attorney General, Virginia Office of the Attorney General

Kathy J. Spangler of Kilmarnock, Executive Director,2019 Commemoration, Jamestown-Yorktown Foundation

Linda Thomas, President of the Virginia State Conference, NAACP

The Honorable Luke E. Torian of Prince William, Virginia House of Delegates

Robert Trent Vinson of Williamsburg, Frances L. and Edwin L. Cummings Associate Professor of History and Africana Studies, The College of William and Mary

Janet I. Warren, DSW of Charlottesville, Professor, Department of Psychiatry & Neurobehavioral Sciences, Institute of Law, Psychiatry and Public Policy at The University of Virginia

Lawrence Webb of Falls Church, Chair of the Falls Church City School Board

Jonathan C. Zur of Richmond, President & CEO, Virginia Center for Inclusive Communities