A Commonwealth of Virginia Website
This news release is from the previous Governor's administration.
For Immediate Release: March 14, 2016
Contacts: Office of the Governor: Christina Nuckols, christina.nuckols@governor.virginia.gov

Governor McAuliffe Congratulates Virginia Deputy Secretary of Transportation for National Award

~Grindly Johnson to receive the Women Who Move the Nation Award~


RICHMOND – Governor Terry McAuliffe today congratulated Deputy Secretary of Transportation Grindly Johnson, one of 14 women leaders to be honored by the Conference of Minority Transportation Officials (COMTO) this week.

The Women Who Move the Nation Award is presented to women leaders who represent a broad cross-section of transportation professionals in both the private and public sectors.

“I am proud to have Deputy Secretary Johnson as a member of our administration, and I am delighted that she is receiving this well-deserved honor,” said Governor McAuliffe. “We’ve made historic progress over the past two years to transform Virginia’s transportation funding system and ensure that it is more transparent and accountable to the taxpayers. Deputy Secretary Johnson has been a key member of our team working on these important issues, and I thank her for all of her hard work and dedication to our Commonwealth.”

“I’m grateful to be recognized by a national organization of my peers along with such an impressive list of women from around the country,” said Deputy Secretary Grindly Johnson. “The award signifies all of the great accomplishments we have had as a team, including increasing business and job opportunities for women and minorities in the transportation industry. I thank Governor McAuliffe, Secretary Aubrey Layne, Deputy Secretary Nick Donohue and everyone at the Virginia Department of Transportation and our transportation agencies for their support.”  

The award ceremony will take place March 16. Past honorees include former U.S. Secretary of Homeland Security Janet Napolitano and U.S. Rep. Tammy Duckworth. U.S. Secretary of Transportation Anthony Foxx is scheduled to participate in the awards ceremony.

COMTO is the nation’s only multi-modal advocacy organization for minority professionals and businesses in the transportation industry.